Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was so thrilled to converge in Kentucky with my MCT colleagues as well as collection of insanely talented Artists!  What a privilege!!!! This was the last PMC conference…… It was a bittersweet time for everyone.

It was inspiring and thrilling for me to finally meet many people I have been Face booking with. I had more fun checking everyone’s name tags, recognizing many of our fans and my personal page friends! The world became a little smaller right before my very eyes!  Plus I had met several wonderful people at the last Art Clay conference and finally was able reunite with them as well!

We were treated to fabulous seminars and demonstrations from wonderful teachers. I left each session encouraged, inspired and thoroughly excited after each one.  “Designing Without a Net” with Ellen Wieske and Tim McCreight and “Process as a Design Tool” by Helga van Leipsig was both thought provoking and motivating for me. I left knowing that I needed to take a good look at my work and begin to stick to a plan of attack! Forcing myself to schedule my artistic sessions, rather than allowing my busy life to interrupt my passion of metal clay creativity.

I had such a hard time deciding which demonstrations to see and I wished I could spilt myself into two people because I did not want to miss a thing. I was able to see Terry Kovalcik and Chris Darway as the “Jersey Boys” and they shared some brilliant information on how to use molding compounds, Polymer clays and how to work with titanium wire, plus metal clay. The interaction between the two of them was amusing to watch! My favorite part was being able to touch and feel each piece they talked about!  I felt that they included us as part the family and that they trusted us!  I looked at Chris’s pieces and took pictures of them; I could not help but smile and be a bit star-struck!

Rio’s party on Saturday night was crazy fun! We were treated to a fabulous finger food dinner, ice cream Sundays, and an open bar.  We had Donna Penoyer wandering around as her stilted cowgirl alter ego and I ended up with some balloon wings! Too much fun!  There was a touching tribute to Tim McCreight, seeming more like an “It’s Your Life” show.  His life has been such a huge impact on so many jewelry artists and metal clay artists throughout the years and will never be forgotten!

I felt so honored to be a part of this momentous occasion! I cannot wait to see the next chapter of where the metal clay community goes! This is a page turning story!

I could write and write about this incredible conference and you will hear more about it in the up coming edition. Stay tuned for more! Don’t miss the pictures!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.